Full Time Faculty

Read more About our Faculty Research Interests.

View Anthropology Professors Emeriti.

Please consult your course syllabus or Blackboard site for office hours.


V. Firat Bozcali

Dr. V. Firat Bozcali will be joining us as Assistant Professor, Sociocultural Anthropology in 2018-19, after a year-long post-doc at the University of Pennsylvania, focusing on political-legal anthropology.


Francis P. Cody

Associate Professor

BA, MA, PhD (2007, University of Michigan - Ann Arbor)

Linguistic anthropology, social theory, postcolonial state formation, literacy, social activism, media studies, Tamilnadu and the wider South Asian world

Office: HSC350
Tel: (905) 569-5795
Email: francis.cody@utoronto.ca


Gary W. Crawford

F.R.S.C., Professor & Interim Chair
BSc, MA, PhD (1979, Univesity of North Carolina at Chapel Hill)

Archaeology; East Asia & Eastern North America; paleoethnobotany

Office: HSC356
Tel: (905) 828-3783
Email: g.crawford@utoronto.ca

Gary Crawford's website


Tracey Galloway

Assistant Professor
BA, MA, PhD (2008, McMaster University)

Indigenous health, circumpolar populations, nutrition transition, food security, chronic disease, child growth, public health policy

Office: HSC354
Tel: (905) 828-5469
Email:tracey.galloway@utoronto.ca


Sarah M. Hillewaert

Assistant Professor
BA, MA, PhD (2013, University of Michigan)

Linguistic responses to globalization and urbanization, language and youth culture, language ideologies and semiotic ideologies, language and religion; Kenya, Eastern Africa and the Indian Ocean World.

Email: s.hillewaert@utoronto.ca


Vivienne Luk

Assistant Professor, Forensic Science Program
BSc, MSc, PhD (2012, University of Toronto)

Forensic Science, Forensic Chemistry; Forensic Toxicology

Office: HSC404
Tel: (905) 569-4259
Email: vivienne.luk@utoronto.ca


Heather M.-L. Miller

Associate Professor & Vice-Dean, Teaching & Learning, UTM
BA, MSc, MA, PhD (1999, University of Wisconsin-Madison)

Archaeology; South Asia; prehistoric & historic complex societies, ancient technology, material culture, social organization, regional inter-connections, and agriculture

Office: 3200C-DV
Tel: (905) 569-4768
Email: heather.miller@utoronto.ca


Andrea Muehlebach

Associate Professor
BA, MA, PhD (2007, University of Chicago)

Socio-cultural anthropology; anthropology of the state and citizenship; ethics and personhood; neoliberalism; labor, value, and affect; welfare; European public culture; Italy.

Office: HSC392
Tel: (905) 569-4851
Email: andrea.muehlebach@utoronto.ca


Esteban Parra

Professor
BSc, MSc, PhD (1993, University of Santiago de Compostela)

Biological & Molecular Anthropology; human evolution; epidemiology; genetic variation within and between human populations

Office: HSC352
Tel: (905) 828-3889
Email: esteban.parra@utoronto.ca

Esteban Parra's website


Tracy L. Rogers

Associate Professor 
BA, MA, PhD (2000, Simon Fraser University)

Physical & Forensic Anthropology; crime scene investigation; human osteology

Office: HSC402
Tel: (905) 828-5449
Email: tracy.rogers@utoronto.ca


David Samson

Assistant Professor
BA, MA, PhD (2013, Indiana University)

Biological anthropology; primatology; human evolution; sleep and cognition

Office: HSC358
Tel: (905) 828-4295
Email: david.samson@utoronto.ca

David Samson's website


Todd Sanders

Associate Professor
BA, MA, MSc, PhD (1997, London School of Economics & Political Science)

Politics of knowledge; audit, transparency and accountability; witchcraft and the occult; interdisciplinarity and expertise; science and policy; energy and extractive industries; anthropology of the underground.

Office: HSC390
Tel: (905) 828-3778
Email: todd.sanders@utoronto.ca


Stephen Scharper

Associate Professor
BA, MA, PhD (McGill University)

Religion, ethics, environment, religion and social movements, biotechnology, human rights, liberation thought, religion and globalization

Office: HSC350
Tel: (905) 569-5795
Email: stephen.scharper@utoronto.ca


Lauren Schroeder

Assistant Professor
BSc (Hons), PhD (2015, University of Cape Town)

Biological Anthropology; palaeoanthropology; hominin variability; evolutionary theory; quantitative genetics

Office: HSC364
Tel: (905) 569-4251
Email: lauren.schroeder@utoronto.ca


Jack Sidnell

Professor
BA, MA, PhD (1998, University of Toronto)

Linguistic Anthropology; Caribbean; Pidgins and Creoles; African American English; conversation analysis; sociolinguistics; vernacular poetics

Office: HSC360
Tel: (905) 828-3776
Email: jack.sidnell@utoronto.ca


David G. Smith

Associate Professor
BA, MA, PhD (1987, McGill University)

Archaeology; Eastern North America & Caribbean;ceramics; forensic archaeology

Office: HSC348
Tel: (905) 828-3784
Email: dg.smith@utoronto.ca


Liye Xie

Assistant Professor
BA, MA, PhD (2014,  University of Arizona)

East Asian Archaeology:Experimental archaeology, use-wear analysis, technological chances, groundstone tools, bone tools, prehistoric land-use strategies, agriculture, sedentary settlement, decision-making strategies, and perception.

Office: HSC346
Tel: (905) 828-3782
Email: liye.xie@utoronto.ca


Back To top